2006   2008   2010   2012   2014   2016   2018   2020  
2006   2008   2010   2012   2014   2016   2018   2020  
The MPIA conference series
at Ringberg Castle
The MPIA conference series
at Ringberg Castle
EPoS 2016 Program
  S U N D A Y 26 June 2016  
17:00 Start of the registration
17:20 Arrival of the airport shuttle bus
19:45 Dinner
21:00 Euro2016 soccer live
  M O N D A Y 27 June 2016  
08:00-09:00 Breakfast
09:00-09:15 15+0 Organizers Welcome and Introduction
09:15-09:45 30+0 Hans Zinnecker The legacy of Francesco Palla (1954-2016)
Chair Diederik Kruijssen Galactic Star Formation and Molecular Clouds
09:45-10:25 30+10 Eve Ostriker Galactic-Scale Star Formation
10:25-10:50 Coffee break
10:50-11:30 30+10 Enrique Vazquez-Semadeni Molecular Clouds: a collapsing paradigm
11:30-12:00 30 DISCUSSION (Moderator: Andi Burkert)
12:00-12:30 30 POSTER SESSION
12:30-14:00 Lunch
Chair Richard Crutcher Turbulence and Filaments
14:00-14:40 30+10 Jouni Kainulainen The Rise and Fall(?) of Turbulence
14:40-15:20 30+10 Rowan Smith Beads on a string: Filaments and star formation
15:20-15:50 20+10 Philippe Andre The role of interstellar filaments in regulating the star formation efficiency in dense gas
15:50-16:20 Coffee break
16:20-16:50 20+10 Doris Arzoumanian The observed properties of a filament system in Orion B
16:50-17:20 20+10 Alvaro Hacar Filament kinematics: from low- to high-mass star-forming clouds
17:20-17:50 20+10 Phil Myers Lumpy filaments in a turbulent medium
17:50-18:30 40 DISCUSSION (Moderator: Vera Koenyves)
18:30 Dinner
21:00 Euro2016 soccer live
  T U E S D A Y 28 June 2016  
08:00-09:00 Breakfast
Chair Eugenio Schisano Cluster Formation
09:00-09:40 30+10 Charles Lada Embedded Clusters and Star Formation
09:40-10:10 20+10 Matthew Bate Combining radiative transfer and a diffuse ISM model to simulate star cluster formation
10:10-10:40 20+10 Claudia Cyganowski Simultaneous low- and high-mass star formation in massive protoclusters: ALMA results
10:40-11:10 Coffee break
11:10-11:40 20+10 Helen Kirk Dense Core Mass Segregation in Orion A and B
11:40-12:30 50 DISCUSSION (Moderator: Joao Alves)
12:30-14:00 Lunch
Chair Vera Koenyves Cores, Collapse and Fragmentation
14:00-14:40 30+10 Rachel Friesen Cores and Collapse
14:40-15:10 20+10 Sibylle Anderl CALYPSO studies of the CO snow line in young low-mass protostars
15:10-15:30 Coffee break
15:30-16:00 20+10 Michael Dunham MASSES: An SMA Large-Scale Program Surveying Protostars to Reveal How Stars Gain their Mass
16:00-16:30 20+10 Juergen Steinacker Modeling the core-filament system L1689B: what to learn from spherical cylinders and the filament mass function
16:30-17:10 30+10 Qizhou Zhang Fragmentation and protocluster formation
17:10-17:40 30 DISCUSSION (Moderator: Henrik Beuther)
17:40-18:30 50 POSTER SESSION
18:30 Dinner
  W E D N E S D A Y 29 June 2016  
08:00-09:00 Breakfast
Chair Harold Yorke From Low- to High-Mass Star Formation
09:00-09:40 30+10 Thomas Henning From low- to high-mass star formation
09:40-10:10 20+10 Eric Keto Comparing Accretion in Low and High Mass Star Formation
10:10-10:40 Coffee break
10:40-11:20 30+10 Peter Schilke High-Mass Star Formation
11:20-11:50 20+10 Katharine Johnston A Keplerian-like disk around the forming O-type star AFGL 4176
11:50-12:30 40 DISCUSSION (Moderator: Hendrik Linz)
12:30-14:00 Lunch
Chair Hans Zinnecker Magnetic Fields
14:00-14:40 30+10 Martin Houde Measurements of Magnetic Fields in the Early Phase of Star Formation
14:40-15:10 20+10 Richard Crutcher The Next Major Step in Zeeman Studies of Magnetic Fields in Star Formation Regions
15:10-15:40 Coffee break
15:40-16:10 20+10 Chris McKee The Role of Magnetic Fields in Star Formation
16:10-16:40 20+10 Juan-Diego Soler The magnetic field morphology in nearby molecular clouds
16:40-17:20 40 DISCUSSION (Moderator: Fumitaka Nakamura)
17:20-18:30 30+40 Tim de Zeeuw
ESO Director General
ESO's program: status and prospects
18:30 Dinner
  T H U R S D A Y 30 June 2016  
08:00-09:00 Breakfast
Chair Richard Klein Disk Formation
09:00-09:40 30+10 John Tobin Revealing the Origins of Disks:
Delving into Innermost Regions of Protostellar Systems
09:40-10:10 20+10 Felipe Alves An ALMA view of B59: from collapsing cores to pre-Kuiper Belt structures
10:10-10:40 Coffee break
10:40-11:10 20+10 Henrik Beuther Fragmentation and massive disk formation
11:10-11:50 40 DISCUSSION (Moderator: Mike Dunham)
Chair Rolf Kuiper Stellar Feedback
11:50-12:30 30+10 Hector Arce Stellar Feedback During the Early Stages of Star Formation
12:30-14:00 Lunch
14:00-14:30 20+10 Joao Alves The Ophiuchus complex and the role of feedback
14:30-15:00 20+10 Adam Ginsburg The effects and extent of feedback on dense prestellar gas near proto-OB stars
15:00-15:30 30 DISCUSSION (Moderator: Patrick Hennebelle)
15:30-15:50 Coffee break
15:50-17:10 80 Richard Klein
Andi Burkert
Hans Zinnecker
Focus Group 1: (Chair: Joseph Mottram)
The Formation of Star Clusters: Theory Confronts Observation
Chat Hull
Baobab Liu
Focus Group 2: (Chair: Hendrik Linz)
Magnetic fields and polarization in young stellar objects: interpreting the next generation of observations and simulations
17:10-17:20 Changing rooms
17:20-18:40 80 Rolf Kuiper
Patrick Hennebelle
Diederik Kruijssen
Anna McLeod
Focus Group 3: (Chair: Sibylle Anderl)
The multi-scale nature and physical mechanisms of stellar feedback
Matthias Gridschneder
Seamus Clarke
Eugenio Schisano
Ke Wang
Focus Group 4: (Chair: Juergen Steinacker)
Filaments, their formation, properties and evolution
18:40 Bavarian Evening
21:00 Euro2016 soccer live
  F R I D A Y 1 July 2016  
08:00-09:00 Breakfast
Chair Nami Sakai Chemistry
09:00-09:40 30+10 Ewine van Dishoeck Astrochemistry: the past and next 10 years
09:40-10:10 20+10 Aurore Bacmann The spatial distribution of complex organic molecules in prestellar cores
10:10-10:40 Coffee break
10:40-11:00 15+5 Poster Contest Winner:
Anna McLeod
Observing massive star formation feedback: what optical and near-infrared integral field spectroscopy can do for you
11:00-11:50 50 FINAL DISCUSSION (Moderator: Matthew Bate)
11:50-12:30 40+0 Harold Yorke Conference summary
12:30-14:00 Lunch
14:00 Departure of the airport shuttle bus